Hit-and-Run Accidents in Delaware: Legal Steps to Take After an Incident
Hit-and-run accidents can be chaotic and confusing to manage. Knowing what practical and legal steps to take after a hit-and-run accident might make this easier to deal with. Not knowing what legal steps to take may lead to legal consequences. Avoid these challenges by asking an experienced Wilmington accident lawyer for legal guidance.
DELAWARE HIT AND RUN ACCIDENT LAWS
Not everyone realizes the legal consequences of a hit-and-run accident. Knowing the Delaware hit-and-run accident laws may help you avoid these legal consequences yourself. Drivers in Delaware are legally required to stop after any car accident that involves:
- Severe property damages
- Injured drivers, passengers, or pedestrians
- Loss of life caused by the accident
The only exception, according to Delaware laws, is if the damage is to the property of the driver only. There must not be any damage to any other person, property of someone else, or the environment of the accident scene. If these conditions are met, then the driver may leave the scene of the accident. This can be complicated to figure out. Talk to a lawyer to learn more.
Leaving the scene of an accident when there are damages to others could lead to being accused of a hit-and-run. This comes with potential legal consequences that include fines ranging from $230 to $1,150 or jail time of up to 6 months. These legal consequences vary based on the severity of the damages caused like:
- Injury severity
- Severity of property damages
- Environment damages
- Whether anyone lost their life
The outcomes of leaving the scene of the accident may also impact the legal consequences. For example, if others experienced worse injuries or deaths as a result of the driver failing to intervene by staying and calling 911, this may lead to more serious legal consequences. Some of these include fines of up to $3,000 or jail time of up to 2 years.
LEGAL STEPS AFTER A HIT-AND-RUN ACCIDENT
Taking legal steps for a hit-and-run accident is vital for protecting yourself from legal consequences. One of the most important steps is maximizing the safety of yourself and others. You can do this by moving away from oncoming traffic and calling 911 if anyone is injured.
Collect as much information as possible about the accident, the other driver, and any damages caused by the accident. Take pictures of damages, write down important details, and obtain a copy of the police report. File this information with the auto insurance company as a car accident claim.
Depending on the situation, you could be eligible for significant compensation. Consider contacting a Wilmington car accident lawyer to find out more about how you can increase your chances of compensation. An experienced lawyer can also help you take steps when the auto insurance company denies your car accident claim.
CONTACT EDELSTEIN MARTIN & NELSON FOR LEGAL HELP
Hit-and-run accidents can be stressful and tragic to deal with. You may not have to deal with this alone. All you have to do is call Edelstein Martin & Nelson by dialing (302) 504-4815 to speak with a Delaware car accident attorney for a free consultation today. Our team of lawyers might be able to help you obtain compensation for lost wages, pain and suffering, and medical expenses. We serve clients throughout Wilmington, DE.